The Superbowl began as a championship game between two football leagues -- the American Football League (AFL), and the much older and established National Football League (NFL). Starting with the 1970-71 season, the two leagues merged, and the Superbowl became the championship game for the National Football League, with the two contenders being the champions of the two conferences -- the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC).

It could be said that only one AFL team ever won the Superbowl -- the 1968-69 New York Jets -- as the merger had already been made official by the time the Kansas City Chiefs beat the Minnesota Vikings the following year. The '69 Jets were quarterbacked by the flamboyant Joe Namath. On the eve of Superbowl III, Namath guaranteed a win for the Jets. With the merger of the two leagues, several teams moved from the NFL/NFC into the new AFC. The first Superbowl played under the "new" format (1971) saw a former NFL team (the Baltimore Colts) representing the AFC and winning.

Another notable game came in 2008, when the New York Giants spoiled the dreams of an unbeaten season for the New England Patriots, becoming only the second wild card team in history to win the championship.

11966-67Green Bay PackersKansas City Chiefs35-10
21967-68Green Bay PackersOakland Raiders33-14
31968-69New York JetsBaltimore Colts16-7
41969-70Kansas City ChiefsMinnesota Vikings23-7
51970-71Baltimore ColtsDallas Cowboys16-13
61971-72Dallas CowboysMiami Dolphins24-3
71972-73Miami DolphinsWashington Redskins14-7
81973-74Miami DolphinsMinnesota Vikings24-7
91974-75Pittsburgh SteelersMinnesota Vikings16-6
101975-76Pittsburgh SteelersDallas Cowboys21-17
111976-77Oakland RaidersMinnesota Vikings32-14
121977-78Dallas CowboysDenver Broncos27-10
131978-79Pittsburgh SteelersDallas Cowboys35-31
141979-80Pittsburgh SteelersLos Angeles Rams31-19
151980-81Oakland RaidersPhiladelphia Eagles27-10
161981-82San Francisco 49ersCincinnati Bengals26-21
171982-83Washington RedskinsMiami Dolphins27-17
181983-84Los Angeles RaidersWashington Redskins38-9
191984-85San Francisco 49ersMiami Dolphins38-16
201985-86Chicago BearsNew England Patriots46-10
211986-87New York GiantsDenver Broncos39-20
221987-88Washington RedskinsDenver Broncos42-10
231988-89San Francisco 49ersCincinnati Bengals20-16
241989-90San Francisco 49ersDenver Broncos55-10
251990-91New York GiantsBuffalo Bills20-19

261991-92Washington RedskinsBuffalo Bills37-24
271992-93Dallas CowboysBuffalo Bills52-17
281993-94Dallas CowboysBuffalo Bills30-13
291994-95San Francisco 49ersSan Diego Chargers49-26
301995-96Dallas CowboysPittsburgh Steelers27-17
311996-97Green Bay PackersNew England Patriots35-21
321997-98Denver BroncosGreen Bay Packers31-24
331998-99Denver BroncosAtlanta Falcons34-19
341999-2000St. Louis RamsTennessee Titans23-16
352000-01Baltimore RavensNew York Giants34-7
362001-02New England PatriotsSt. Louis Rams20-17
372002-03Tampa Bay BuccaneersOakland Raiders48-21
382003-04New England PatriotsCarolina Panthers32-29
392004-05New England PatriotsPhiladelphia Eagles24-21
402005-06Pittsburgh SteelersSeattle Seahawks21-10
412006-07Indianapolis ColtsChicago Bears29-17
422007-08New York GiantsNew England Patriots17-14
432008-09Pittsburgh SteelersArizona Cardinals27-23
442009-10New Orleans SaintsIndianapolis Colts31-17
452010-11Green Bay PackersPittsburgh Steelers31-25
462011-12New York GiantsNew England Patriots21-17
472012-13Baltimore RavensSan Francisco 49ers34-31
482013-14Seattle SeahawksDenver Broncos43-8
492014-15New England PatriotsSeattle Seahawks28-24
502015-16Denver BroncosCarolina Panthers24-10

The National Football League website is

The list of Canadian football champions is here

Sports Crosswords Sudokus Word searches Web directory

Last modified: February 8, 2016.

Copyright 2004-2016 Mirroreyes Internet Services Corporation. All Rights Reserved.